Moto2 Race Report: Pedro Acosta Triumphs at the Autódromo Internacional do Algarve

The Moto2 race at the Autódromo Internacional do Algarve on March 26th, 2023, saw Pedro Acosta of the Red Bull KTM Ajo team emerge victorious under clear skies and dry track conditions. The temperature was 21°C with 60% humidity, and the ground temperature stood at 31°C, providing perfect conditions for an intense and thrilling race.

Pedro Acosta dominated the race, securing 25 points with a time of 36’04.1930 and an average speed of 160.4 km/h. The young Spanish rider displayed great skill and determination as he led the pack throughout the race.

Aron Canet from Pons Wegow Los40 put up a strong fight, finishing in second place with a time of 36’05.5510 and an average speed of 160.3 km/h, just 1.358 seconds behind Acosta. Canet earned 20 points for his team and showed excellent racing prowess on his Kalex machine.

Italian rider Tony Arbolino of Elf Marc VDS Racing Team completed the podium in third place, earning 16 points with a time of 36’08.6530 and an average speed of 160 km/h. Arbolino, 4.460 seconds behind the leader, showcased his talent and determination to secure a podium finish.

In fourth place was Filip Salac from QJMOTOR Gresini Moto2, who posted a time of 36’11.3030 and an average speed of 159.8 km/h. Salac’s performance earned him 13 points and displayed his skill and competitiveness in the race.

Manuel Gonzalez from Correos Prepago Yamaha VR46 MasterCamp rounded out the top five, finishing with a time of 36’12.3860 and an average speed of 159.8 km/h, 8.193 seconds behind Acosta. Gonzalez secured 11 points for his team, proving himself as a strong contender in the championship.

The rest of the race saw fierce competition among the riders, with positions frequently changing throughout the event. Jake Dixon (6th), Sam Lowes (7th), Albert Arenas (8th), Somkiat Chantra (9th), and Jeremy Alcoba (10th) all put up strong performances, earning valuable points for their teams.

Celestino Vietti (11th), Barry Baltus (12th), Fermín Aldeguer (13th), Joe Roberts (14th), and Sergio Garcia (15th) completed the points-scoring positions. The remaining riders, including Darryn Binder, Borja Gomez, Dennis Foggia, Lorenzo Dalla Porta, Sean Dylan Kelly, Marcos Ramirez, and Rory Skinner, finished the race outside of the points.

Unfortunately, Alonso Lopez, Zonta Van Den Goorbergh, David Sanchis, and Bo Bendsneyder did not complete the race due to various issues.

Stay Connected

More Updates