Moto3 Race Review: Thrilling Battle at Autódromo Internacional do Algarve

The Moto3 race at Autódromo Internacional do Algarve on March 26th, 2023, was an exhilarating display of close racing and skillful maneuvers as the top riders fought for victory under clear skies and optimal track conditions. With a temperature of 19ºC, a dry track, and a humidity level of 69%, the racers were primed for an exciting showdown.

In a nail-biting finish, Daniel Holgado emerged victorious, securing 25 points for the Red Bull KTM Tech3 team. He completed the race with a time of 34’27.061 and an average speed of 151.9 km/h. It was a hard-fought win for the young Spaniard, who narrowly edged out his closest rival, David Muñoz of BOE Motorsports, by a mere 0.160 seconds.

Muñoz rode an impressive race on his KTM, keeping up the pressure on Holgado until the very end. He ultimately secured 20 points with a time of 34’27.221 and an average speed of 151.9 km/h. Brazilian rider Diogo Moreira of MT Helmets – MSI completed the podium, finishing third with a time of 34’27.236 and an average speed of 151.9 km/h. Moreira’s performance showcased his talent and determination as he secured 16 points for his team.

Jose Antonio Rueda, representing the Red Bull KTM Ajo team, was just a hair’s breadth away from a podium finish. He came in fourth with a time of 34’27.267 and an average speed of 151.9 km/h, securing 13 points for his team. Jaume Masia from Leopard Racing finished fifth, earning 11 points with a time of 34’27.294 and an average speed of 151.9 km/h.

The competition remained fierce further down the field. Ayumu Sasaki, riding for Liqui Moly Husqvarna Intact GP, came in sixth place with a time of 34’28.151 and an average speed of 151.8 km/h, followed closely by Stefano Nepa of Angeluss MTA Team in seventh place with a time of 34’28.186 and an average speed of 151.8 km/h.

Xavier Artigas from CFMOTO Racing PruestelGP took eighth place with a time of 34’28.198 and an average speed of 151.8 km/h, while his teammate Joel Kelso finished ninth with a time of 34’28.329 and an average speed of 151.8 km/h. Deniz Öncü of Red Bull KTM Ajo completed the top 10, posting a time of 34’28.470 and an average speed of 151.8 km/h.

The race was not without its share of drama and heartbreak. Ivan Ortola, representing Angeluss MTA Team, suffered a setback as he completed only one lap before retiring from the race. David Alonso, riding for Autosolar GASGAS Aspar M3, also faced disappointment as he retired after completing only six laps. Filippo Farioli of Red Bull KTM Tech3 was forced to retire after 14 laps due to a mechanical issue.

Scott Ogden from VisionTrack Racing Team and Lorenzo Fellon of CIP Green Power did not complete the race as they crashed out, leaving them with no points for the day.

Despite the setbacks faced by some riders, the race was a thrilling spectacle for fans and a testament to the skill and determination of the young riders in the Moto3 class. The Autódromo Internacional do Algarve provided a challenging and exciting course for these competitors, with its mix of tight corners, elevation changes, and high-speed straights. The unpredictable nature of the race was a reminder of just how important strategy, teamwork, and adaptability are in this sport.

In the mid-pack, Kaito Toba of SIC58 Squadra Corse secured 11th place, earning five points with a time of 34’29.913 and an average speed of 151.7 km/h. Just behind him, Collin Veijer from Liqui Moly Husqvarna Intact GP finished 12th, posting a time of 34’33.965 and an average speed of 151.4 km/h, earning four points for his team.

David Salvador from CIP Green Power finished 13th with a time of 34’33.992 and an average speed of 151.4 km/h, earning three points for his team. Tatsuki Suzuki from Leopard Racing secured 14th place, earning two points with a time of 34’36.783 and an average speed of 151.2 km/h.

Riccardo Rossi from SIC58 Squadra Corse completed the points-scoring positions, finishing 15th with a time of 34’36.809 and an average speed of 151.2 km/h, earning one point for his team.

The remaining riders, including Ryusei Yamanaka, Matteo Bertelle, Mario Suryo Aji, Romano Fenati, Taiyo Furusato, Joshua Whatley, Syarifuddin Azman, and Ana Carrasco, completed the race but did not score any points.

This thrilling Moto3 race at the Autódromo Internacional do Algarve was a perfect showcase of the passion, talent, and skill that these young riders bring to the world of motorcycle racing. The close battles, daring overtakes, and relentless pursuit of victory made for an unforgettable spectacle for fans and a true testament to the spirit of the sport.

As the Moto3 championship continues, we can expect more intense competition and unforgettable racing moments. With the season in full swing, every point counts, and the pressure will only continue to mount for these up-and-coming riders.

Looking ahead, the teams and riders will undoubtedly be analyzing their performance in Portugal and making any necessary adjustments to their strategies and setups. The lessons learned here will be crucial as they continue to navigate the demanding calendar of the Moto3 championship.

Stay Connected

More Updates